dzhendigi

Hello world!

In Coming to terms with the Web on July 27, 2010 at 8:29 am

Now, my wireless keyboard is set up (it and the receiver have made amends), I’m used to the new, heavier mouse, and my browser seems to be staying open when I ask to edit a post. Ahem! Hello world! For the past 24 hours I’ve been pondering the themes I’d like to explore here. At the moment, I have:

Homogeneity

Quality, and lack thereof

Serendipity

Attention, and lack thereof

Homogeneity

Found myself buying a bottle of water this morning, something I usually try to avoid.  Like this school. Earlier, carrying my KeepCup, I felt far more cutting-edge. Not many of those about, yet. Tonight, thinking I’d like to follow the theme of homogeneity (group think, etc), I recalled an article I read in Good Weekend magazine a year or so ago, about how easy it is to identify groups of people who dress the same way. They weren’t just talking about goths, or teenagers, or even about people with bad taste. I could easily identify my category. Anyway, I went searching for this article (‘people who look the same’, ‘people who dress the same’, ‘Good Weekend archive’, etc), and after a few minutes gave up. Not very impressive for someone who has braved foreign libraries in search of obscure music scores. But that was then, this is now. My skittish mind then recalled another article, ‘Is google making us stupid?‘. It’s hard not to agree: in fact, why read the article at all? We already know, don’t we? While I was googling ‘Is google making’ google itself suggested ‘stupid’. Nice one, google. It’s all so self-referential I hardly know what to pay attention to anymore.

Attention deficit…

I try to tell myself that as I get paid to pay attention, close attention, every day, I’m entitled to some down time when I get home. Right?

Well I think so.

Until next time.


  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. I wonder if there’s a way to identify those who blog or use the Internet a lot….

Leave a Reply

